Tango 250: Ángel D’Agostino

About Ángel D’Agostino

Ángel D'Agostino
Ángel D’Agostino

D’Agostino was born in Buenos Aires in 1900 and died there in 1991. He played the piano and formed his own orchestra in 1932. He recorded with Victor between 1940 and 1963.

D’Agostino worked with several fine singers, but is best known for his partnership with Ángel Vargas which produced 96 recordings of very high quality between 1940-46. His recorded output was largely with singers, but there are also a few instrumentals, which deserve to be better known.

The suggested Tango 250 collection features tango, vals and milonga tandas, all with Ángel Vargas, recorded between 1940-44.

D’Agostino (Vargas) 1941

The orchestra recorded just two sides in 1940, followed by these four songs, which were recorded together in only the orchestra’s 2nd and 3rd sessions. They are lovely for dancing: simple, but subtle arrangements, with rhythmic interest, and presented in a distinctive, rather understated style.

  • Tres esquinas (24-Jul-41)
  • Un copetín (24-Sep-41)
  • Adiós, arrabal (9-Sep-41)
  • Ahora no me conocés (9-Sep-41)

D’Agostino (Vargas) 1942-44

These songs come from a slightly later period and reflect the general slowing down and the growing sophistication of tango in the mid-40s; but the style (which D’Agostino never really changed) continues to be instantly recognisable.

  • Trasnochando (15-Jun-42)
  • Todo terminó (14-Dec-42)*
  • Me llaman tango (30-Apr-43)
  • Mi viejo barrio (8-Aug-44)

*Todo terminó is not currently available on Spotify. You can listen to it here instead:

D’Agostino (Vargas) 1941-42 (Vals)

These subtle and refined valses are a delight to experienced dancers, who love the understated style of D’Agostino: blending gentle but interesting rhythms with more lyrical elements. The arrangements allow each instrument (and the voice of Vargas) to be heard clearly: nothing dominates – everything is in balance.

  • Qué me pasará (12-Dec-41)
  • Esquinas porteñas (22-May-42)
  • Yo tengo una novia (17-Nov-42)

D’Agostino (Vargas) 1942-43 (Milonga)

These milongas are full of rhythmic interest, but also perfectly illustrate the understated D’Agostino style.

  • El porteñito (23-Mar-43)
  • Así me gusta a mí (17-Nov-42)
  • Entre copa y copa (23-Apr-42)

Click here to return to the Tango 250 Summary.