Tango 250: Rodolfo Biagi

About Rodolfo Biagi

Rodolfo Biagi
Rodolfo Biagi

Biagi was born in Buenos Aires in 1906 and died there in 1969. He was a pianist and played in several orchestras (most notably that of Juan D’Arienzo) before forming his own in 1938. He recorded for Odeón between 1938-56, for Columbia between 1956-61 and for Music Hall in 1962.

He worked with many singers, the most important of which were Jorge Ortiz (1940-43 & 1945) and Alberto Amor (1943-47).

The suggested Tango 250 collection features tango and vals tandas from the orchestra’s early years.

Biagi (Instrumental) 1938-39

These instrumentals are among the very first recorded by the new orchestra, but Biagi has already made a decisive break from the sound of the D’Arienzo orchestra, making much more prominent use of the violins, in particular.

  • Unión cívica (16-Oct-38)
  • El trece (15-Nov-38)
  • El incendio (15-Aug-38)
  • Pura clase (13-Jul-39)

Biagi (Ortiz) 1940-42

These songs were recorded during Ortiz’ first period with the orchestra (he also sang with Miguel Caló during 1943). The music is rhythmical, with strong off-beat accents. The musical textures are sparse, with highly distinctive contributions from Biagi, himself, at the piano.

  • Humillación (15-Mar-41)
  • Marcas (15-Oct-40)
  • Indiferencia (10-Sep-42)
  • La marcha nupcial (26-Mar-41)

Biagi (Ibáñez) 1938 (Vals)

These early valses feature the voice of Teófilo Ibáñez. Dancers sometimes find Biagi’s music challenging, but the valses (and there are lots of them) are rhythmically straightforward and upbeat.

  • Loca de amor (15-Nov-38)
  • Lejos de ti (2-Dec-38)
  • Viejo portón (16-Oct-38)

Click here to return to the Tango 250 Summary.